info@iamericas.org |  +1 858 453-5560

CONTACT US

        

ENGLISH

   

ESPAÑOL

 

Home » Webinar: Energy Resource Governance Initiative (ERGI)

Webinar: Energy Resource Governance Initiative (ERGI)

Apr 22, 2020 | Energy

PRESENTATION PDF

ContactJacqueline Sanchez
The contours of the global energy transition point to a growing role for critical minerals across several segments of the energy sector from batteries and storage to electric vehicles to key renewables such as solar and wind energy.
According to the US Department of State, demand for critical energy minerals could increase almost 1000 percent by 2050. Focused on the critical governance aspect of this rapidly evolving dynamic for the global energy sector, the Bureau of Energy Resources (ENR) launched the Energy Resource Governance Initiative (ERGI).
ERGI is designed to promote sound mining sector governance and resilient energy mineral supply chains and counts three principal objectives:
Engage resource-rich countries on responsible energy minerals governance.
Support resilient supply chains.
Meet the expected demand for clean energy technologies
ERGI will be the focus of the next installment of the joint Institute of the Americas and Payne Institute for Public Policy “Critical Minerals and the Energy Transition” webinar series.
The webinar will feature a presentation by Mark Pituch, Energy Officer in the Bureau of Energy Resources at the United States Department of State. He will share details of the ERGI and updates on implementation including governance principles and best practices at the core of the initiative.
The webinar will be held Tuesday, April 20 at 10:00am San Diego (12:00pm Houston; 1:00pm Washington, DC; GMT/UTC – 8 hours). The webinar will include a live Q&A session with the audience.

In Collaboration with:

Related posts

Q2 – 2022

Q2 – 2022

Q2 - 2022President & CEO’s ColumnEarlier this month, the United States hosted the IX Summit of...

read more